Primal Mountain Climb

This past weekend I visited a friend of mine in Fort Collins, Colorado.  We decided to tackle one of the so called “14ers” in the Rocky Mountains.  Being the go-getter that I am, I said we should climb the tallest one, Mount Elbert.  Also, being from the flat, sea level terrain of Southeast Texas, I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

From the trail head, we hiked 4.5 miles to the top of the mountain, gaining 4,700’ in elevation.  The air was thin, the trail was steep, and the cherry on top was the 0 degree windchill (also not something I’m used to).  It was brutal.

Now, just because I’m climbing a mountain doesn’t mean I’m going to start pounding Snicker’s bars and Gatorade.

I brought Lara bars, fruit leather, and some roasted, unsalted, mixed nuts (no peanuts, of course!).  This primal fuel did the trick.

The view from the top and sense of accomplishment was well worth the pain and suffering it took to get there.  Not everybody can say they’ve climbed the tallest mountain in Colorado.

Let this be proof that it is not necessary to carb-up with a gigantic plate of pasta before a long day of physical exertion.

2 thoughts on “Primal Mountain Climb

Leave a Reply

